Debbi's Crop'nPunch PhotogBlog

HELP ME! What’s my Style?

OK, OK, I know – if you’ve read my About C’nP page, then you know this category is supposed to be about anything other than photography. BUT I NEED HELP and I didn’t know where else to post this.

I picked up my first DSLR last September, just a short five months ago and haven’t put it down since (as I’m sure you can tell from my Flickr Photostream and the 100s of pictures uploaded – something I’ve learned that newbies do: include everything!) During this timeframe I’ve shot this and that – mainly landscape pictures since going on PhotoFrenzies by just driving around the countryside has been my main source of inspiration, practice and yes, therapeutic. However, I’m not convinced that is my style – what I’m the best at, what I enjoy the most, etc.

I have taken practice shots of pets (doesn’t everybody?), landscapes, botanical, still life, and a few of children. The ones that I really haven’t attempted are action and portrait photography. Why? I don’t know for sure. Perhaps I haven’t attempted action simply because that isn’t something I would necessarily enjoy. Portraits? Well, I guess if I’m going to be completely honest, it’s because I think that is above me. More than I am capable of. Saved only for the best of the best photographers. Does it interest me? Yes! As I look at other’s portfolios and galleries I’m mesmerized at the beauty. Of all people, I am one who knows that I can do whatever I put my mind to. I can do all things through Christ, Who gives me strength. One who enjoys learning and making the attempt. But somehow, portraits seem to be out of my range. So I guess, well, I just need to “play” with it.

But now, back to the subject at hand…what is my style? How does someone really know? I read a post put out by SmudgeChris not long ago that made me really question this. It was such an honest approach and set my mind at ease for the search…for a while. But now I’m questioning again. What is my style? What am I best at? I thoroughly enjoy having a camera in my hand and at my eye. The sound of the shutter is music to my ears. Although I only approach this as a hobby with no other plans of my own to do anything more with it, I still want to know what my style is! Can you help? Will you help?

I would really like to get your input, ideas on how to discover my own strengths in photography, your opinions (if you have any) on what you think my style is leaning towards, just whatever you have to share. You can see several photos on this site in different locations such as PhotoFrenzies, Nothin’ But Pics and A Little Different. The majority are on my Flickr Photostream or my main website. Take a look, come back and give me your thoughts…please? Help me!

Thanks in advance! ~ Debbi

One response

  1. Well, my faves of urs have been landscapes and candid kids. Your style is just doing what you love. That’s enough. Did you get any other comments on this? What did others say?

    March 9, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Leave a Reply

