Debbi's Crop'nPunch PhotogBlog

HDR – HOW DO you REALLY see things?

In my quest for finding my own photography style, I’ve been experimenting with all types of subjects: landscapes, children, pets, still life, etc. and all types of processing and processing software: natural, Lightroom, Photoshop, hdr, Photomatix, Topaz, etc.. Have I determined what my style is as of yet or what particular type of photographer I am to be? Nope, not really, but am I having fun as I figure it out? You bet!

Which brings me to my latest, FUN discovery…HDR Photography. What does HDR stand for? Well, technically it stands for High Dynamic Range. However, I’ve just recently come across a website and a photographer/artist that has taught me to see that HDR stands for something just a little different. Does he know that he taught me this? No, he has no clue. Heck, he doesn’t even know my name. But I know his and it is Trey Ratcliff of StuckinCustoms.com. For that matter, he didn’t even say exactly what I heard and am about to share with you on what I now believe HDR stands for.

After watching a video recently where he spoke to the folks at Google about HDR photography, I realized that what he was saying, in a nutshell, was this…HDR really means How Do you Really see things? HDR photography is something that not everyone agrees is photography art. I, for one, do like it and think that it is like painting – using a camera and software as opposed to a brush, paint and canvas. And by visiting the Stuck in Customs site, you will see what I mean.

The one thing that Trey said in his recent public speech that really spoke to me, was how when you are traveling and take photographs and then show your friends or family who were not there with you, you notice that the scenes that you recall in your memory just aren’t quite the same when viewing the photographs. You find yourself saying, “Well, I guess you just had to be there!”

When viewing HDR photography, the brilliance, the vividness and the details are all there. It is most like the actual drama that you experienced when you were photographing the image that you wanted to share with others. Even the emotion of the moment comes out in HDR photographs. So if you want to share how you really saw the image, HDR helps to make that possible!

So for now, I’m having a blast experimenting. And I am enjoying the process. So be watching for more of my HDR experiments and please feel free to let me know your thoughts. Check out  my HDR attempts at my DRobertsonPhotography.com gallery. Here is the link to my HDR images.

One of my first HDR attempts: The Curve


One response

  1. Pingback: Hill Country Adventure «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.